Eligibility Income Levels

2015/2016 low income levels used to evaluate economic disadvantage

FY 2015/2016 HHS Poverty Guidelines

Size of Family Unit 150 Percent of Poverty    
1 $17,505    
2 $23,595    
3 $29,685    
4 $35,775    
5 $41,865    
6 $47,955    
7 $54,045    
8 $60,135    

 For all states (except Alaska and Hawaii) and for the District of Columbia.


For family units with more than eight members, add the following amount for each additional family member: $3,960 for the 48 contiguous states plus the District of Columbia and outlying jurisdictions; $4,950 for Alaska; and $4,550 for Hawaii.

The term "low-income individual" means an individual whose family's taxable income for the preceding year did not exceed 150 percent of the poverty level amount.

The figures shown under family income represent amounts equal to 150 percent of the family income levels established by the Census Bureau for determining poverty status. The poverty guidelines are published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.

MSMS | MS 203 | 635 Barnhill Drive | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Phone: 317-278-1724 | Fax: 317-278-5364